Posted in Week 8

Seamus Heaney HomePlace

I wanted to get more primary research from my local area, so I took the opportunity to go on a tour with university to Bellaghy. This is where the new Seamus Heaney centre is located in an old RUC barracks site. The building stood out at first sight from entering the town. Clearly this is going to be the central hub for the area in the hope to bring a bit more prosperity to the area.

We were greeted by our tour guide, who was lovely and very helpful. The first room was smaller than I imagined, but the guides new to stagger our entry so it wasn’t too crowded. The mix of tactile and digital interaction methods was really great. A wide range of media was on show, so there was something for everyone. An audio guide was provided, which was useful if you had a specific poem you wanted to hear read, but you wouldn’t use it for every poem in my opinion.

Using personal items, really helped increase the tourists empathy to Seamus Heaney and the centre. Unless you are a literary, I don’t think I’d return in the near future. It’s in an isolated location, with not much else nearby, so you would have go specifically to the centre. I did enjoy my visit and the experience as a whole, however there was nothing that stood out to me as something I would be in a hurry to go back to. Perhaps if they had some events or workshops on…

 

Leave a Reply

